Nintendo and The Pokemon Company have revealed that a Pokemon Direct will take place later tonight. There’s no other information outside of the fact that it’ll last 8 minutes.

Whilst it’s pure speculation, it’s clear that a new Pokemon game will be announced. It could be possible that Nintendo would be getting a Pokemon announcement out of the way before E3, but it could literally be anything. It could definitely be a teaser for the previously rumoured Pokemon Stars on Nintendo Switch.

It is likely that with the success of Pokemon Sun/Moon on 3DS, Nintendo would be wanting to release one more Pokemon game on the 3DS, and that’s why they’re announcing it before E3, but we’re hoping that it is something for the Switch.

You can watch the Direct at the below times:

  • Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane: Midnight – Wednesday 7th of June
  • Adelaide/Darwin – 11:30pm – Tuesday 6th of June
  • Perth – 10pm – Tuesday 6th of June

  • heavenshitman1

    With Monster Hunter XX getting cross play on Switch n 3DS, they could be targeting the exact same idea with Pokemon. I’d say Nintendo has formed a strategy to try and augment the 3DS fanbase with the Switch fanbase rather than try and cater to 2 distinctly separate platforms (constantly)

    Help keep the profitable 3DS alive as long as possible