The 12 Games Nominated For Induction Into The World Video Game Hall Of Fame

Pokemon Red, Mortal Kombat and Tomb Raider are among the 2017 finalists which have been nominated for entry into The World Video Game Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame is based in New York and its organising committee will choose only two games from the below list to join the list of games already included. These include games such as The Legend of Zelda and Doom.

The selections will be made on May 4th by a committee of international video game scholars and journalists.

All of the below are great games, but the spectrum of which some of them sit differ greatly. For instance putting up Wii Sports against Solitare, just doesn’t make sense to me. It’s like comparing apples and oranges.

Personally, it feels like a no brainer for Pokemon Red and Green, Halo and Donkey Kong to make the list as these games changed the landscape of gaming forever.

The 12 nominees are below:

  • Donkey Kong (1981)
  • Final Fantasy VII (1997)
  • Halo: Combat Evolved (2001)
  • Microsoft Windows Solitaire (1991)
  • Mortal Kombat (1992)
  • Myst (1993)
  • Pokemon Red and Green (1996)
  • Portal (2007)
  • Resident Evil (1996)
  • Street Fighter II (1991)
  • Tomb Raider (1996)
  • Wii Sports (2006)

Thanks, NME.


Metroid Prime Trilogy
Metroid Prime Trilogy Could Be Coming To Nintendo Switch Next Month