Ubisoft’s XDefiant Is Finally Out And Available To Download Now

I hate when people misspell XDefinite.

After Ubisoft finally, recently came to the party with a release date for its preseason, the free-to-play arena FPS, XDefiant, is finally out.

It’s been a tumultuous road with a few delays, but those keen to get stuck into some fast-paced multiplayer shooting with factions based on some iconic Ubisoft properties can now do so across PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC.

You can download the game for free for each respective platform at the links below:

And a shiny new launch trailer is available to watch below:

Starting with this launch, XDefiant will run a six-week preseason and then begin its proper seasonal cadence, with Ubisoft having already shared a roadmap for the game’s debut year that will introduce new factions, maps, weapons, modes and more every season.

[XD] News - Launch Date 2024 - preseason

XDefiant’s preseason contains 14 maps, 5 factions, 24 weapons and five modes including Domination, Hot Shot, Occupy, Escort and Zone Control, and also comes with a Ranked Mode Practice playlist for players to get a feel for 4v4 competitive matches before Ranked Mode matches come in.

RELATED:  Assassin's Creed Shadows – The Cheapest Australian Pre-Orders And Deals

[XD] News - Launch Date 2024 - roadmap

Once preseason ends, there’ll be a new season every 3 months which each of them introducing a new faction, 3 weapons, 3 maps and a new Battle Pass to progress through.

Here’s a detailed list of everything that’s in the game right now during the preseason:

XDefiant Preseason Content


  • Echelon
  • Phantoms
  • Cleaners
  • Libertad
  • Dedsec (after unlocking or purchasing)


  • Arena
  • Attica Heights
  • Dumbo
  • Echelon HQ
  • Emporium
  • Liberty
  • Mayday
  • Meltdown
  • Midway
  • Nudleplex
  • Pueblito
  • Showtime
  • Times Square
  • Zoo


  • Domination
  • Hot Shot
  • Occupy
  • Escort
  • Zone Control

Ranked Mode Practice Playlist

Practice our upcoming ranked mode and battle it out in 4v4 competitive matches. This playlist will include:

  • 4v4 versions of: Domination, Occupy, Escort, Zone Control


Rewards unlocked during the Server Test Session and Insider Sessions will be available at launch.