Ubisoft’s XDefiant Has Finally Secured A Release Date

A little more cooperative, now!

XDefiant, Ubisoft’s free-to-play arena FPS, has had a bit of a rough go on the road to release with a few false starts and lengthy delays, but now it’s found itself back on track and should be launching in full very soon.

The publisher broke the news after a most recent Server Test for the game, thanking fans for their patience and feedback and revealing that the game will launch for PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC on May 21st with the preseason going live at 3AM on Wednesday, May 22nd AEST.

Starting at launch, XDefiant will run a six-week preseason and then begin its proper seasonal cadence, with Ubisoft sharing a roadmap for the game’s debut year that will introduce new factions, maps, weapons, modes and more every season.

[XD] News - Launch Date 2024 - preseason

XDefiant’s preseason will contain 14 maps, 5 factions, 24 weapons and five modes including Domination, Hot Shot, Occupy, Escort and Zone Control, and will also come with a Ranked Mode Practice playlist for players to get a feel for 4v4 competitive matches before Ranked Mode matches come in.

RELATED:  Assassin's Creed Shadows' Release Date And Collector's Edition have Been Revealed

[XD] News - Launch Date 2024 - roadmap

Once preseason ends, there’ll be a new season every 3 months which each of them introducing a new faction, 3 weapons, 3 maps and a new Battle Pass to progress through.

Here’s a detailed list of everything coming in the preseason:

XDefiant Preseason Content Starting May 21st (22nd AEST)


  • Echelon
  • Phantoms
  • Cleaners
  • Libertad
  • Dedsec (after unlocking or purchasing)


  • Arena
  • Attica Heights
  • Dumbo
  • Echelon HQ
  • Emporium
  • Liberty
  • Mayday
  • Meltdown
  • Midway
  • Nudleplex
  • Pueblito
  • Showtime
  • Times Square
  • Zoo


  • Domination
  • Hot Shot
  • Occupy
  • Escort
  • Zone Control

Ranked Mode Practice Playlist

Practice our upcoming ranked mode and battle it out in 4v4 competitive matches. This playlist will include:

  • 4v4 versions of: Domination, Occupy, Escort, Zone Control


Rewards unlocked during the Server Test Session and Insider Sessions will be available at launch.