Teams Qualified For World Championship 2016.

League Of Legends World Championship Contenders Confirmed

All sixteen World Championship contenders for League of Legends were locked in as of this morning. With the third and final seeds from the Europe and North America decided upon in the culmination of the Regional Finals for the two regions. Splyce and Cloud9 saw victory in their respective gauntlet runs, earning them the right to appear alongside the greats of League of Legends in the 2016 Season.

Splyce at the EU LCS Summer 2016 Finals in Kraków.
Splyce at the EU LCS Summer 2016 Finals in Kraków. Source: Riot Esports Flickr.

Qualified teams will be fighting for glory as the World Championship travels to four locations across the US for the month long affair beginning with San Francisco’s Bill Graham Civic Auditorium for the Group Stage. The top eight teams will do battle at the Chicago Theatre as the competition moves on. Semifinals will be housed by the world famous Madison Square Garden Arena before the two remaining dominate teams collide in the Grand Final at the Staples Center in LA. Both Madison Square Gardens and the Staples Center have boasted sell out crowds for competitive League of Legends in the past. Last year the NA LCS crowned its Summer Split champions at Madison Square Gardens and the Staples Center was where fans flocked to witness the World Championship Grand Finals in 2013.

Cloud9 at the NA LCS Summer 2016 Finals at Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Ontario.
Cloud9 at the NA LCS Summer 2016 Finals at Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Ontario. Source: Riot Esports Flickr.

Of course, Splyce and Cloud9 are only two of the six qualified teams from the premier Western regions, acting as the third seed from the European LCS and North American LCS respectively. The rest of the top caliber teams heading to the World Championship Group Stage come from Korea’s LCK, China’s LPL, the LMS which represents Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau as well as two Wildcard qualifiers who champion the minor regions.

Check out the full list of qualified teams below and look forward to seeing these teams duke it out for the title of World Champion of League of Legends’ 2016 Season. Before the competition begins, however, Riot Games will be broadcasting the World Championship Group Draw this Sunday, September 11. The stream is set to begin 4 AM AEST. After the groups are decided the stage is set for the Worlds Group Stage which begins on September 29. 

Representatives from League Champions Korea:

  • ROX Tigers
  • SK Telecom T1
  • Samsung Galaxy

Representatives from China’s League of Legends Pro League:

  • EDward Gaming
  • Royal Never Give Up
  • I May

Representatives from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau’s League Masters Series:

  • Flash Wolves
  • ahq e-Sports Club

Representatives from North America’s League Championship Series:

  • Team SoloMid
  • Counter Logic Gaming
  • Cloud9

Representatives from Europe’s League Championship Series:

  • G2 Esports
  • H2k-Gaming
  • Splyce

Representatives of the Wildcard Minor Regions:

  • INTZ e-Sports
  • Albus NoX Luna