the last of us australia

Here’s When And Where Aussies Can Watch HBO’s The Last Of Us TV Series

Don't be the last of us to watch it!

HBO’s long-awaited television adaptation of The Last of Us has kicked off with the premiere episode today, and a ton of positive reviews of the full season have recently dropped – including our which you can read right here.

The Last of Us is releasing new episodes weekly over its nine-episode season, but with the often-confusing world of region-based TV and movie streaming, you might be wondering exactly when and how you can get in on the action here in Australia.

The good news is, Aussie viewers won’t have to wait any longer than our global friends to catch each new episode of The Last of Us as it drops, it’s a simple matter of accounting for time zones and knowing where to catch it – and that’s on both Binge and Foxtel locally.

WHEN DOES THE HBO’S LAST OF US GET RELEASED IN AUSTRALIA?

Each episode of The Last of Us will drop on a Monday at 1PM AEDT, starting on Monday, January 16th and continuing on for the next eight weeks. The only exception is the fifth episode, which drops two days early on a Saturday.

  • The Last of Us Episode 01: Available Monday, January 16th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 02: Available Monday, January 23rd at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 03: Available Monday, January 30th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 04: Available Monday, February 6th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 05: Available Saturday, February 11th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 06: Available Monday, February 20th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 07: Available Monday, February 27th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 08: Available Monday, March 6th at 1PM AEDT
  • The Last of Us Episode 09: Available Monday, March 13h at 1PM AEDT
RELATED:  February's PlayStation Plus Extra/Deluxe Games Have Been Revealed

The local timezone equivalents below for each Monday’s episode drop are below:

  • 1.00 PM AEDT (Melbourne/Sydney/Hobart/Canberra)
  • 12.30 PM ACDT (Adelaide)
  • 12.00 PM AEST (Brisbane)
  • 11.30 AM ACST (Darwin)
  • 10.00 AM AWST (Perth)
  • 3.00 PM NZDT (Wellington)

HOW TO WATCH THE LAST OF US IN AUSTRALIA

HBO’s The Last of Us is available to stream on both Binge and Foxtel.

Binge is available starting from $10 per month for standard definition streaming, $16 per month for high definition and up two devices simultaneously, or $18 per month for high definition and up four devices simultaneously. All three tiers have a 14-day free trial available for new users – you can sign up here.

Foxtel will also have the series via FOX Showcase, which all subscribers of Foxtel or Foxtel NOW will be able to access as part of the base subscription. Like Binge, a free trial is also available for new users to Foxtel NOW, for 10 days – take a look at that here.

Both Binge and Foxtel will have each new episode as it premieres at the above times.

ARE THERE ANY TRAILERS?

There’s been a couple teaser trailers for The Last of Us trailers released in the past, but the major official trailer is the one below: