final fantasy xvi demo

The Final Fantasy XVI Demo Is Available Now On PS5

It's time!

Update: And it’s live! You can grab the Final Fantasy XVI demo for PS5 right here.


At the huge Final Fantasy XVI Celebration in LA today, the Square Enix and Creative Business Unit III team announced that the long-awaited playable demo for Final Fantasy XVI will launch today.

The Final Fantasy XVI demo will feature roughly two hours of content from the beginning of the game, taking players through its prologue, with save data able to be carried across to the full game on release. As a bonus, a special battle will unlock after players complete the prologue portion of the demo, designed to show off the game’s combat and some of the Eikonic abilities Clive will gain over the course of the game, although this battle demo will be self-contained and no save data from it will carry into the full game.

VIDEO PRESENTED BY FINAL FANTASY XVI: COMING EXCLUSIVELY TO PLAYSTATION 5 ON JUNE 22ND. DOWNLOAD THE FREE DEMO AND PRE-ORDER NOW

The demo will be available here starting at the following times around the country:

RELATED:  A Demo For SaGa Emerald Beyond Is Out Now With Progress Carrying To The Full Game

Final Fantasy XVI Demo Release Times Australia – June 12th

  • 6.00 PM AEST (Melbourne/Sydney/Hobart/Canberra/Brisbane)
  • 5.30 PM ACST (Adelaide, Darwin)
  • 4.00 PM AWST (Perth)
  • 8.00 PM NZDT (Wellington)

Final Fantasy XVI launches exclusively on PlayStation 5 on June 22nd.

We played a two-and-a-bit-hour demo of Final Fantasy XVI ourselves earlier in the year, although a different section of gameplay than what will feature in the public one. We came away from that with an incredibly positive impression of the game’s combat and presentation, saying, “Regardless of the session having a more narrowed focus on combat and Eikonic battles, the two-and-a-bit hours I spent immersing myself in Final Fantasy XVI has painted a reassuringly positive picture. It’s been in good enough hands this whole time that I’ve always felt rather confident in the game to really bring the single-player Final Fantasy experience back into good stead, but knowing what I now know and playing what I played I’m almost certain that this will be the Final Fantasy to truly wow the world once again.”