PlayStation has today announced that PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita games will no longer be included in the PlayStation Plus lineup after March 9th, 2019.
Any PS3 or PlayStation Vita game that was previously added to your download list will be playable as long as you remain a PlayStation Plus member.
PlayStation has confirmed that past this day, only PlayStation 4 titles will be included in the linuep, but they haven’t said whether this means that more games will be included in the lineup or if it will still include only two PS4 games.
It’s good that Sony are giving people a year to figure out whether they want to opt out of the service. Obviously there might be still some older users who are downloading their monthly games on older platforms.
The statement sent to all PlayStation Plus users can be found below:
The PlayStation Plus Monthly Games allocation will no longer include PS3 and PS Vita titles after 8 March 2019
PlayStation®3 (PS3™) or PlayStation®Vita (PS Vita) titles will be included in the PlayStation®Plus Monthly Games allocation until 8 March 2019.
After 8 March 2019, the Monthly Games provided to PlayStation Plus members will no longer include PS3 or PS Vita titles. Any PS3 or PS Vita Monthly Games downloaded or previously added to your Download List will remain playable for as long as you remain a PlayStation Plus member.
Beyond 8 March 2019, Monthly Games will only include PlayStation®4 (PS4™) titles. All other features and benefits of the PlayStation Plus service will remain unaffected.
What this means for you
As a PlayStation Plus member, you will continue to receive Monthly Games for PS4, PS3 and PS Vita for every month of your membership until 8 March 2019.
After 8 March 2019, PS3 and PS Vita titles will no longer be included in your Monthly Games allocation.
Any PS3 or PS Vita Monthly Games downloaded or previously added to your Download List will remain playable for as long as you remain a PlayStation Plus member.
If you do not wish for your PlayStation Plus membership to continue after this change has taken place, cancel your subscription or turn off auto renewal so that your membership period ends by 8 March 2019. When you cancel your membership, your subscription will end at the conclusion of your current billing cycle and you will not be charged additionally. You can use these direct links to check when your next subscription payment is due and manage your account. You’ll need your Sony Entertainment Network sign-in ID and password to log in to your account: