sonic origins plus

Sonic Origins Plus Adds 12 Games And New Playable Characters To Last Year’s Collection

That's a lotta Sonic!

SEGA has announced Sonic Origins Plus, an updated version of 2022’s Sonic Origins that adds a bunch of new content and features to the collection, coming to PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One and Switch on June 23rd.

We reviewed Sonic Origins last year and enjoyed it, saying “Sonic Origins keeps the focus on the hedgehog’s early core entries, polishing them up to a fine sheen and creating an addictive ecosystem around them that breathes new life into each title. There are a few missteps and grubby mechanics to forgive, but otherwise this is well worth diving into for old-school Sonic fans.”


Now, the new Plus edition of the game is adding a whopping 12 new games, all taken from the SEGA Game Gear’s library of Sonic titles, as well as introducing “Classic” Amy as a playable character in the four originally-included games and making Knuckles playable in Sonic CD, among other extras when it retails for $59.95 at launch.

RELATED:  Sonic Roll Is A New Sonic The Hedgehog Board Game Coming Next Year

In total, Sonic Origins Plus will include the following:

  • Main Game
  • 12 Game Gear Games Emulated and Playable in the Museum
  • Classic Amy as a Playable Character in Sonic the Hedgehog 1, 2, 3, and Sonic CD
  • Knuckles as a Playable Character in Sonic CD
  • 20-Page Artbook
  • Reversible Coversheet with New, Never-Before-Seen Art
  • All Previously Released Sonic Origins DLC

And the newly-added Game Gear titles are:

  • Dr Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Sonic the Hedgehog Triple Trouble
  • Sonic Blast
  • Sonic Spinball
  • Sonic Drift
  • Sonic Drift 2
  • Sonic Labyrinth
  • Sonic Chaos
  • Tails’ Skypatrol
  • Tails Adventures