The Original Metal Gear Games Will Be Included The Metal Gear Solid Master Collection

There'll be "minimal edits" to the collection overall.

When the Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Vol. 1 was announced during last week’s huge PlayStation Showcase, Konami had also teased some extra additions to the package outside of the original three Metal Gear Solid games. Now, we have some confirmation that at least a couple more titles have made it into the collection – even if they were all but assumed to be in there to begin with.

As first spotted by Eurogamer, the PlayStation Store listing for the collection reveals a bit more about what we can expect to see included, in particular the first two Metal Gear games (not counting Snake’s Revenge) from the MSX2 are listed as inclusions. This might not be surprising news, given that we know the Metal Gear Solid games are coming in their HD Collection forms circa 2011, and the HD version of Metal Gear Solid 3 included both Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake as playable games accessible from the main menu.

The question remains then, if these two titles are the unannounced extras that Konami has been teasing, or if there’s still more to come.

RELATED:  Here's The First, Stunning Look At Metal Gear Solid 3 Remake Gameplay

The PlayStation Store listing also mentions that the included titles are “complete with minimal edits to copyrighted contents” and that regional versions of the games will also be made available to owners as additional downloads.

“The origin of stealth action returns. METAL GEAR SOLID: MASTER COLLECTION Vol. 1 unifies the beginning of the METAL GEAR gameplay experience in one single package. Infiltrate enemy fortresses all over the globe, complete your missions with stealth and experience the thrilling cinematic story of the METAL GEAR series.

Volume 1 line-up features the original titles and beginning of the METAL GEAR series:

Metal Gear
Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake
Metal Gear Solid (Including VR Missions/Special Missions)
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (HD Collection version)
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (HD Collection version)

This collection includes the classic versions of the games, complete with minimal edits to copyrighted contents.

Regional versions of the titles are available as additional downloads.”