final fantasy vii rebirth

The Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Demo’s Junon Update Is Coming Tonight

More than a one-winged demo.

Update: Square Enix has confirmed that the update for the playable demo of Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, which will feature visual improvements to the Performance Mode as well as a whole new section of the game to play, is dropping tonight at 11PM AEDT.

Players will be able to check out a portion of the open zone in Junon, the same section we’ve previously played and covered right here. The demo will update at the following local times:

  • 11.00 PM AEDT (Melbourne/Sydney/Hobart/Canberra)
  • 10.30 PM ACDT (Adelaide)
  • 10.00 PM AEST (Brisbane)
  • 9.30 PM ACST (Darwin)
  • 8.00 PM AWST (Perth)
  • 1.00 AM Feb 22 NZDT (Wellington)


Original: Since dropping last week, the playable demo for Final Fantasy VII Rebirth has plenty of fans excited to get into the full game, though it hasn’t come without some criticisms levelled at the visual quality of its “Performance Mode” option. While the build of the game in the demo does a good job of maintaining a solid 60FPS in the higher framerate mode, many have pointed out that it looks considerably lower-res in comparison to the gorgeous, albeit 30FPS, Quality option.

Now, Square Enix has revealed that the demo will be receiving an update on February 21st that will bring with it improvements to the visuals in Performance Mode, along with adding a whole new playable section set later in the game in the Junon area. This area is a cut-down portion of the chapter that is presumably the same section we played last year, and so progress won’t feed into the full game but it should give players a solid idea of how the open world-ish parts of the game work.

RELATED:  Final Fantasy XVI's Huge The Rising Tide DLC Is Available Now

The post on X reads, “The update to the Final Fantasy VII Rebirth demo scheduled for February 21st will apply improvements to the visual quality when selecting “Performance Mode” from the graphics options. The same improvements will also be applied to the full game.”

I recently had the chance to join the Square Enix lead developers in Los Angeles and check out the first four hours of the game, saying, “After pretty much having the DualSense controller pried out of my hands at the end of our session, I’m filled with nothing but excitement for Final Fantasy VII Rebirth and unwavering confidence in this team to deliver something that’s true to the 27-year-old source material, but also fiercely modern, filled to the brim with new experiences and with an identity all its own. Bring on February 29.”

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth launches exclusively on PlayStation 5 on February 29th. A demo is available now on the PlayStation Store and you can pre-order it on Amazon for $99 with free shipping and pre-order price guarantee.